15mm Vignettes

I am still making stuff for the Wars of the Roses. Lately, I have tried my hand at making vignettes, as I think those really enliven the tabletop. The first one depicts two guys trying to repair a broken axle while their officer loses his nerves.

pic1a

pic1

The vignette will be useful for one of the random events from Sharp Practice, which is ‘A broken axle’ and means that your cart can’t move for 1D6 turns. However, I got the idea when I read my favorite wargaming book, Scenarios for all Ages by Grant and Asquith. There is one scenario which features a broken down railway engine and which sounds like fun. Now I don’t play any period that has railways, but why not make the objective a broken down cart?

pic2

For the cart, I used a Magister Militium ammunitions cart I had lying around. The two lubbers trying to fix the wheel are Essex artillerists. The hot head is a disordered marker from Peter Pig’s Wars of the Roses range. I very much like this range, there are lots of original and expressive sculpts to be found.

pic3

The other vignette is an addition to the farm stuff. I bought the small dunghill at TACTICA as it looked nice and I was certain to find a use for it. I had it lying around till now, as it looked kind of isolated and boring on its own. So I finally decided to stick it unto a base, add a pig and a peasant model and paint it up. Looks quite cute.

pic4

Last but not least I stuck the beehives I got from Unit Models some time ago unto a bench made of matchsticks and painted them up. I thought about adding a bear that tries to steal the honey, but K. argued that this would be a little bit too much…

pic5
Aaaah! Bees in my bonnet!
9 thoughts on “15mm Vignettes

  1. 40kterminatus July 13, 2014 / 1:00 pm

    Those bees look like a lot of fun 🙂

    • cptshandy July 13, 2014 / 8:49 pm

      Yes, K. already suggested to add a random event for the bees… or next time the ‘Stampede’ card comes up, we’ll just have a swarm of bees flying around and causing disruption.

  2. daggerandbrush July 15, 2014 / 3:22 am

    Ahh, no, not the bees, ahh my eyes! Anyhow, very cool stuff that will bring the table to live. gaming tables are often quite clinical, cool to see such nice vignettes. If you can procure a Busch Kleintierset http://www.amazon.de/Busch-1153-Kleintier-Set/dp/B0030DATDM you could add some bees to the bee hives. They fit alright with 15mm (ok, big bees they would be, but any smaller and you won;’t see them ;).

    • cptshandy July 15, 2014 / 12:05 pm

      Thanks for the link, I didn’t know this set! If they fit with 15mm, the other animals will also come in handy…

    • daggerandbrush July 20, 2014 / 9:24 am

      I admit, they are a bit on the big side for bees in 15mm, but you cannot make them any smaller to actually recognise it as one. The other stuff works well, however.

  3. Phil July 15, 2014 / 9:28 pm

    Looks great, excellent work!

  4. sebastosfig July 16, 2014 / 10:12 pm

    Great work. Vignettes are always good to make. Actually, people tend to remember more the vignettes than the fighting units

  5. Richard July 30, 2014 / 4:35 pm

    I liked the imaginative use of figures & cart for your Wars of the Roses! And the other 2 are creative, as well.

Leave a Reply

