Meet the Neighbours!

We’ve settled well into the new city and apartment, although the heat is unbearable at the moment. Fortunately, I met fellow wargamers Sigur Skwarl and Virago, who took my mind off the weather by preparing a game set in good cold England.

This was my first game of Dux Britanniarum, but as a longtime Lardies fan, I recognized many of the mechanisms. Also, my hosts occasionally gave me hints when I was about to make a mistake – they don’t know yet that this had nothing to do with me being a beginner and all with me being a tactical dunderhead!

The British village.
The British village.
Close the door, I spot Saxons!
Close the door, I spot Saxons!

I took the stalwart Romano-British, which had to defend their village from a raid by greedy Saxons played by Sigur. The first couple of turns, Sigur rushed his men towards the village centre while the Saxons advanced at a more leisurely pace.

Saxons storming into the village...
Saxons storming into the village…
...and British marching to stop them.
…and British marching to stop them.

The only exception was a young British Big Man, who spurred his warriors on and advanced in front of the British line. When the Saxon saw this, they immediately charged, massacring their poor enemies. Fortunately, my force morale didn’t suffer – seems no one liked the overambitious guy.

The victorious Saxons form a celebratory shield wall.
The victorious Saxons form a celebratory shield wall.

The Saxons started searching the houses for loot but didn’t find anything for several turns. I used the time to organise my levy into one big mass of unwashed terror and ushered them towards the Saxons.

The great unwashed.
The great unwashed.

They proved more resilient than any of us thought! In the end, however, they succumbed to the superior fighting skills of the Saxon elite.

With those guys gone, there was no real resistance left and the Saxons managed to carry off a couple of pigs. Salad only for the poor British this week!

This was a great game and a fun evening. Rules-wise, I really liked Dux Britanniarum. It was interesting to see how mechanisms already present in Sharp Practice have been refined and streamlined. Especially Force Morale is a concept that I would like to see in SP – maybe I’ll make a house rule to include it. The card system is very clever and the campaign looks impressive. All in all, it looks a bit as if Sharp Practice were a rough gem while Dux Britanniarum was a polished diamond. Don’t get me wrong: I still love Sharp Practice as it’s incredible versatile and lends itself to all kinds of tinkering, which is something I like to do. However, I’m really tempted to get a copy of Dux Brit and dust off my SAGA figures for some Dark Ages rumble.

But most importantly, my hosts were gracious and fun and it was a pleasure to game with them. Thanks Sigur and Virago, I hope we’ll have more games in the future! And thanks for letting me use your photos.

8 thoughts on “Meet the Neighbours!

  1. Pete Ware August 21, 2015 / 4:42 pm

    That’s great to see you have Lardites as your gaming neighbours. A real bonus to the shift.

    • cptshandy August 21, 2015 / 4:48 pm

      Yes, I’m very happy too! Next time, I get to show them Sharp Practice, and then I’ll try to convince them to host a game of Chain of Command. Time travel Lardy style!

    • Pete Ware August 21, 2015 / 4:51 pm

      I think Sigur is already looking at if not playing CoC.

  2. cptshandy August 21, 2015 / 4:55 pm

    Yes he is, that’s why I have hopes up for getting a game! 🙂

  3. Richard of Linford August 24, 2015 / 2:48 pm

    Great AAR, thanks – and nice photos, in focus, and nicely composed. Cheers!

    • cptshandy August 24, 2015 / 6:31 pm

      Thanks! The photos were made by Sigur and Virago – as was the terrain and the figures.

  4. daggerandbrush August 26, 2015 / 4:18 am

    Very nice table setup. The buildings/long halls look great. You should make a gaming mat that matches the bases of the houses, I think that would look amazing.

Leave a Reply

