New Year’s Plans

2015 was an exciting year, with a major house move and a new job situation. It also brought new wargaming opportunities in the form of my new mates Sigur and Virago, who not only provided memorable games but who also incited me to plunge into new projects. Thanks guys, I’m looking forward to continuing our gaming in 2016!

So, what are the plans for the new year?

First and foremost, I want to continue with the ACW. I really got captivated by the period and for someone who loves exotic theatres and units as much as I the Civil War has lots to offer. I’ve been reading up on Native American troops as well as on riverine warfare and even more exotic stuff, which also gave me some hare brained ideas for scratch building… I’ll only say ‘Balloon Corps’! Terrible Sharp Sword is great fun and if we’re lucky, Sharp Practice 2 will come along this year, so lot’s of reasons to keep going on this front.

Eagerly awaited - the new edition of my favourite set of rules.
Eagerly awaited – the new edition of my favourite set of rules.

Then there is the French Foreign Legion for Chain of Command. I’ve assembled some literature and started painting, but I’m not happy with the basing yet. However, I want to get at least one platoon and some support done so I can finally have a game without borrowing troops from Sigur or Virago.

The state of my FFL troops at the moment.
The state of my FFL troops at the moment.

Those guys also got me into doing a 10mm fantasy project. Virago wants to play a campaign based on Mighty Empires, using simple rules such as Hordes of the Things to play out the battles. I got myself some Pendraken Dwarfs for Christmas, so let’s hope they are finished soon so we can start an epic fantasy shuffle.

Speaking of fantasy, I’ll also continue to paint the HeroQuest figures I found on my in-law’s attic. I’ve supplemented them with some female adventurers from TheDiceBagLady and already ponder about what I could do with them apart from playing HeroQuest… let’s see when I will succumb to the lure of shiny fantasy skirmish rules.

Shiny stuff from Annie's
Shiny stuff from Annie’s

Best laid plans… Considering the fact that my job will be quite demanding for the year, I’ll take it easy and won’t make myself too much pressure. I have, however, entered The Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge for the first time – not to compete with the big guys, but to use it as a sort of painting log with a motivating community. I’ve set myself the goal of 200 points, so let’s see how I will do.

Of course, the regular series on Wargaming Warrior Women will be continued and there is also a special secret gaming project I’m planning, so I hope you’ll stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Plans

  1. Michael Peterson January 2, 2016 / 5:06 pm

    I really enjoyed the eclectic nature of your blog and your bits of history like the Warrior Women project. It’s heartening to see someone who is consistently curious and willing to push themselves into new gaming territories.
    I look forward to following your blog in the new year, which I hope is a very happy one for you and yours.
    Best,
    Michael

    • cptshandy January 2, 2016 / 5:14 pm

      Thanks Michael! I am glad that you like the blog and its eclectic nature – it’ll certainly stay that way 🙂 I wish you and your wife all the best for the new year!

  2. mellis1644 January 4, 2016 / 5:13 pm

    Good luck in the new year. You might want to look at Dragon Rampant for your simple fantasy battle game as well. That’s one I hope to try in the near future.

    • cptshandy January 4, 2016 / 6:55 pm

      Thanks, good luck to you as well! I’ll probably get Dragon Rampant, I really like Lion Rampant and maybe I can convince my mates of giving it a go…

Leave a Reply

