A Heroic Stand

It’s been a while, but suddenly K. and I were bitten by the sci-fi bug again and decided to have a spontaneous game of Wandering Star. We rolled for forces, K.’s TCO getting the better of me with one fireteam of Brunt and Sharkmen each, while I only had one unit of Auxies. I was luckier with support, receiving a team of Special Forces while K. got a light flyer.

We also rolled for the scenario, which turned out to be ‘A Heroic Stand’: Whoever achieved the primary object would have to hold it for two turns to win.

I decided to go for the secondary objective on my left flank first, so I positioned most of my forces there. K. went for the rightmost objective first, which was nearer to her table edge, but I hoped my Special Forces would deal with her Pasiphaeans.

My Quar, supported by Auxies.
My Quar, supported by Auxies.
K.'s Sharkmen and Pasiphaeans.
K.’s Sharkmen and Pasiphaeans.
Brunt.
Brunt.

However, K. also had a group detached to cover the objective I was heading for: Brunt! They made themselves cosy behind some barrels and kept firing at my teams. It would be a while until I was able to dislodge them.

Brunt bearing the brunt of my fire.
Brunt bearing the brunt of my fire.

Meanwhile, on my right flank, my Special Forces tried to stop K.’s Pasiphaeans from achieving her objective. Alas, the raptors once again didn’t live up to their reputation and couldn’t deal with the small guys.

Raptor Special Ops on the prowl.
Raptor Special Ops on the prowl.
Pasiphaeans in action.
Pasiphaeans in action.

With one secondary objective bagged, K. sent her Sharkmen towards the primary objective.

Sharkmen working their way towards the primary objective.
Sharkmen working their way towards the primary objective.

This time, my Special Forces were successful: When they poured Overwatch fire into the Sharks, the fish were done with. This made me cocky and I decided to go for an all-out attack, which swept the Brunt away and put me into a fine position to cover the primary objective.

Preparing the final strike.
Preparing the final strike.

Her Pasiphaeans did achieve it, but they couldn’t hold it, as my raptors led a final close assault and chased them away.

And they did it!
And they did it!

In the end, the flyer was the only asset left for the TCO – it decided to beat a hasty retreat.

After the game, K. rightly pointed out that I didn’t win the game, as I didn’t fulfill the victory conditions – I merely prevented her from winning. I admit that my tactics aimed at exactly this and were a bit cowardly, especially since we both agreed that the victory conditions were very hard. In hindsight, I’m not sure the scenario can be won at all – Wandering Star is a brutal game, and holding an objective for two turns without any cover is a difficult challenge.

Nevertheless, fun was had by all! The quirky units really start to grow on us and we agreed to break the sci-fi figures out more often.

3 thoughts on “A Heroic Stand

  1. Michael Peterson January 30, 2016 / 3:14 am

    I enjoyed the colour and variety of this battle and table. It makes SF gaming look so tempting. Lovely.

    • cptshandy January 30, 2016 / 10:45 am

      Cheers guys! For us, sci fi is all about colourful and quirky aliens 🙂

Leave a Reply

