New Project: The Mexican Revolution

Last year at CRISIS, I saw a fascinating set up for the Mexican Revolution that somehow seems to have captured my imagination. I don’t know anything about the period, but did some quick and rather superficial reading until I caught myself assembling lists of books and researching figures – always a bad sign!

PanchoVillaStaff

Initially, I was quite disappointed to find that my favourite scale, namely 15mm, is badly served for the period. There are some Mexicans in Peter Pig‘s Western range, but I couldn’t find figures for the federal troops. Interestingly, there is a selection of figures available in 20mm, but I never really understood why anyone would want this scale (similar to 10mm…). There are, however, a lot of attractive figures in 28mm out there.

So why not do a small scale skirmish game? I recently backed the Kickstarter for the second edition of A Fistful of Lead, as I wanted to try those rules since I first read a report on the very inspiring blog by Mellis, Adventures in painting miniatures. And then I remembered that I already have a complete set up for a Mexican town in 28mm – namely my Caribbean pirate town!

I made a quick inventory of things I could use: there’s enough to cover my table, and I even found two more buildings, one of them a nice Hacienda, unassembled and unpainted still in their boxes. It just needs some scatter terrain to provide cover and we’re ready to go!

No sense to baulk now – Mexican Revolution in 28mm it is. Now some of you might sigh and think that I finally saw the light, while others may hiss ‘traitor!’. However, I’m not leaving 15mm – after all, Sharp Practice 2 is coming and my ACW armies still need some reinforcements. For this project, however, I decided to take the plunge and give the big guys another try.

One of the most attractive features of A Fistful of Lead is that it is designed for multi-player games. As I am now fortunate enough to have a handful of players available, I want to paint up several factions so as to be able to accommodate 4-5 people. The main bulk of my Federales and my Villistas come from Brigade Games. Reinforcements are provided by Gringo40s, who also offer very nice Soldaderas, the famous female combatants of the Revolution.

soldadera

Via Annie at Bad Squiddo Games, I ordered some American mercenaries from Pulp Miniatures and some more Villistas from Artizan. As soon as I have painted those, I will probably get some American regulars (from Pershing’s expedition) from Brigade. If I split the Revolutionaries into two factions, let’s say Villistas and Carrancistas, this will give me five factions – enough for a chaotic multi-player game, I guess.

While I want to keep the project fairly historical, I want to incorporate the rich movie tradition of this period – in my experience, small scale skirmish games work best when they embrace their cinematic nature.

So, let’s go!

WildBunch

2 thoughts on “New Project: The Mexican Revolution

  1. imperialrebelork March 4, 2016 / 10:00 am

    Can I ask why you prefer 15mm over 28?
    I like the idea of this period. Great screen shot of the wild bunch. Fantastic movie!!!

    • cptshandy March 4, 2016 / 10:30 am

      To answer bluntly: money, space and time 🙂 15mm is cheaper, it takes a smaller playing space (I normally shorten distances by one third) and I’m generally faster painting it (although this might have changed – I discovered that I’m much faster painting 28mm than I was three years ago…). Space is the most important factor, not only for playing, but also for storing terrain: 28mm terrain takes up lots of space, and as I mainly play skirmish games, I tend to collect quite a lot of terrain. Living in a smallish city apartment, all those boxes have to fit somewhere… However, I like the look of 28mm for small scale skirmish games. For large skirmish games like Sharp Practice, I prefer 15mm. For anything larger (big battle games), I’d probably go down the 6mm route.

Leave a Reply

