On the Painting Table

I’ve now pre-ordered Sharp Practice 2, so naturally I want to bolster my ACW forces with additional troops.

pic1

On the painting table right now are two units of Union skirmishers, again from the 2nd South Carolina Volunteers. You can also see two dismounted cavalry officers, a spare Union artillerist and a Confederate bugler. While the bulk of my ACW collection is composed of Peter Pig figures, for the skirmishers I used Essex to provide some variety.

By the way, for most of my painting I use cork stoppers to hold the figures. They have little magnets on one side, and as all my figures are based on steel washers (or round steel bases), this is a simple and versatile system of holding the figures for painting.

Like many of the recent Lardies games, Sharp Practice 2 will also have Force Morale. When I recently made an order from Warbases, I also got myself two of their casualty markers, which I just painted red and blue. I like their look and they take up less space then the Force Morale table that I’ve seen used for Chain of Command.

pic8

I’ve also recently finished some more figures for the Mexican Revolution. Those will be used as American mercenaries, akin to the guys from the Wild Bunch, and are all from Pulp Figures. I really like the sculpts and the poses, and they were a treat to paint.

pic5

Watching movies taking place in the Mexican Revolution period, you’ll always see an old car driving around. It is, however, not too easy to find a car from the 1910s in the right scale. There is one on offer from Brigade Games, but that was a tad too expensive for my taste. After some research and browsing the web, I found an old GDR-made toy car on ebay. It was cheap, the scale is perfect and it was easy to repaint:

pic6

So what’s next? Some more ACW guys, of course! And I also got myself a couple of buildings from Hovels. I like their old-school style, they are very reasonably priced and look good on the table. Here you can see the Sharpsville church (which I will use as a generic church building) and a brick building.

pic7

4 thoughts on “On the Painting Table

  1. Jimbo April 8, 2016 / 6:54 pm

    What type of washers do you use for your 15mm ACW. My own 15mm figs on pennies look a bit dwarfed on the base. Where do you get them from? Cheers Jimbo

    • cptshandy April 8, 2016 / 7:13 pm

      The washers are 0.8mm thick and I got them from the local hardware store when I lived in Switzerland – I got myself a really good supply before I left, as I wasn’t sure if I would get them again… 🙂

  2. Steve Preston April 9, 2016 / 1:57 am

    The Generic brick building looks like the Stone House from Bull Run, Manassas… 🙂

    • cptshandy April 9, 2016 / 10:36 am

      Yes, that’s what they say 🙂 I’ll use it for the outskirts of Jacksonville, as I want to play a small campaign around the 1st South Carolina’s capture of that town.

Leave a Reply

