On the Painting Table

My gaming activities are stalling at the moment due to unforseen real life mishaps. Painting has also been halted, but I’m pretty confident I’ll wield a brush again soon. At the moment, there is quite an eclectic mix of stuff on the painting table:

pic1

On the first rack, the two figures on the rightmost side are two 15mm scarecrows from Peter Pig. I discovered them by chance in their ECW range and immediately ordered a pack – they will serve well for my American fields. In the pack, there were also farmers which, although nominaly intended for ECW, will also work for ACW (there is one on the second rack). The 15mm figures you can see in the front row are irregulars from 15mm.co.uk to complement my Confederate Guerillas. The mules in the back row carry a limbered mountain howitzer – a simple conversion I’ve made from a Freikorps15 gun and spare pack mules.

The boat in the background is the Peter Pig USS Tyler in 1/600 with masts added for my VIVAT participation game.

The fellow with the oversized club on the right side of the second rack is a Reaper Neanderthal who will serve as a giant for my 10mm fantasy army. The animals are figures from the boardgame Mice and Mystics. The German version was re-released recently and I grabbed a copy because my nieces are getting old enough to start ‘proper’ board gaming and this might be something they enjoy. Also, I just have a thing for anthropomorphic animals.

DE-MM_Box_Top.indd

Incidentally, last week a nice chap on the Lead Adventure Forum sold off a bunch of animals from the Oathsworn Miniature Burrows & Badgers Kickstarter. When it was running, I’d been sorely tempted to back the Kickstarter, but reason prevailed at the time. However, I just couldn’t pass up this offer! For a change, I was fast enough to reply and two days later, 20 of those fantastic sculpts landed in my mail box.

2030b2473d63fb75ab668f262c4bb989_original

I’m really looking forward to painting them, but apart from that, I have to admit I’m not too sure what to do with them. My main idea is, as with Mice and Mystics, to try to entice my nieces to try out tabletop gaming – perhaps I’ll use Ganesha Games’ Song of the Splintered Lands or some other simple skirmish system.

Leave a Reply

