On the Painting Table

Painting is going quite smoothly at the moment. The ACW is still my main interest and I’ve decided to do a Grierson’s Raiders force for Sharp Practice. I already got the figures from Peter Pig, but before I actually start with them, I wanted to finish the dismounted version of the Confederate cavalry.

pt2

Here you can see dismounted Confederate troopers as well as three horses for the ‘horse holder’ marker – I don’t actually put eight horses plus two guys on the table, but use a small vignette consisting of one horse holder and three horses.

pt1

Here is another trooper and the horse holder. The unpainted guy with the binoculars is for a special project – more on this another time.

As you can see, I’ve also started painting Romans for the Punic Wars. Wargames, Soldiers & Strategy has announced Project 217, which somehow will deal with conflicts in 217BC, and it would be nice to be involved in some way. Those four velites are at least a start – they make up two elements for DBA, an easy way to make progress!

mice1

Finally, I’ve done some figures for the Mice & Mystics board game. Those are plastic models and they are nice, but the details are not as pronounced as one would wish. Still, they paint up rather quickly and I didn’t spend too much time on them anyway – they are going to be used by children and I don’t want to worry about them destroying an elaborate paintjob.

3 thoughts on “On the Painting Table

  1. thedivergentwargamer October 21, 2016 / 8:49 pm

    Nice. I’ll have to check out the Peter Pig cavalry as I don’t have a single one yet.

    • cptshandy October 21, 2016 / 11:25 pm

      PP riders and horses are cast together, so no assembly necessary. Only two poses though. But they are nice figures!

  2. Mikko October 22, 2016 / 10:23 am

    Those M&M minis look really cute! I’ve been thinking of getting some antropomorphic animals, I really liked the Redwall books when I was younger.

Leave a Reply

