More Board Gaming Fun

We are really busy with board games at the moment. Two days ago, friends invited us to play Talisman. The host is a real fan of the game – in fact, he told us that it’s his favourite board game! I’ve never played before and therefore was very curious, especially since it’s a classic and I was interested in how it would put up in relation to modern board games.

TalismanCover

Each of us drew three characters and we could choose one of them. I took the Prophetess, who has some fun abilities. K. was the Grave Robber, while the others were Sorceress and Doomsayer. The game itself is quite fun: You walk around the board, trying to improve your abilities and get equipment so you can enter the dangerous inner regions and finally grab the Crown of Command. The rules are not complicated and the adventure cards provide fun and dramatic encounters. I liked the narrative developing around my character, who was not very powerful but managed to get into the inner regions rather soon. I was the first to have a talisman, but when I decided to tackle the area where the crown was (with the help of a daemon I had befriended with a spell) I was thrown out immediately. Better luck next time!

As the game can go for a while, we decided to split it over two sessions. We took photos of the board and collected all our cards in envelopes, so we can continue as soon as we meet again.

Talisman shows its age in some aspects: It’s quite dependent on luck and dice-rolling, it’s a rather long game and player interaction is not very high. However, it nevertheless is great fun. Drawing an adventure card is always thrilling and the upside of the luck dependency is that the game is rich in variety. I’m certainly looking forward to finishing our session – and I’m still confident that I can get my hands on this crown!

MMCover

Another board game we played last week was Mice & Mystics. I bought it some time ago specifically for my nieces and the older one finally wanted to give it a go. She just turned seven and never played anything other than kids games, so I was curious how she would do. At first, it seemed that she was a bit over challenged and I wasn’t sure how much she liked the experience. However, her parents told me that she talked about nothing else than how cool this game was for the rest of the day and she keeps pestering me to have another game, so I guess she did like it. We were also joined by our nephew, who is now 13 and an old hand at geeky board games. He was a real gentleman and contributed a lot to make the game a great experience for his younger cousin.

mm1

Mice & Mystics is a cooperative dungeon crawler mainly aimed at kids. The rules are simple but interesting enough to demand sound tactical decisions. The story is exciting, but it never gets brutal – characters can’t die, they get captured if they have a certain amount of wounds, meaning they can be freed by the others and continue playing. This makes it easier for younger kids, as you are not out of the game if you make a mistake (like in Zombicide). Also, I really like the miniatures and being a fan of anthropomorphic animals I had them painted up a while a go.

Virago told me that his girls also love Mice & Mystics, so it’s highly recommended if you want to introduce your offspring to geeky board games.

10 thoughts on “More Board Gaming Fun

  1. Mikko May 26, 2017 / 8:52 am

    I was just looking at Mice & Mystics at the local game store a few days ago, might be a good one to pick up based on your comments!

    • cptshandy May 26, 2017 / 9:00 am

      Yes, it’s great fun, not only for kids!

    • poisontail May 28, 2017 / 11:11 am

      I do recommend M&M, it is one of my favouritesl. Its not overly easy, works for 1-4 players. I don’t think it is aimed for kids, the rules are not *that* easy. (Plus, when we played it we got quite into it – a centipede can be really scary when you are a mouse! Even for ~30 year old kids!)

      If you’re buying it in Finland though, I feel the prices vary quite a lot depending on retailer.

    • cptshandy May 28, 2017 / 12:38 pm

      Yes, the rule are more complex than you’d think… I had a bit of trouble to remember and implement all the rules while at the same time coordinating two unruly kids 🙂

  2. Sigur May 26, 2017 / 9:05 pm

    Yar, I hear nothing but good about it. It’s no Talisman of course.. 😉

    Last two times we played we set a time at which everybody gets teleported up to the portal of power and has a Talisman in their pockets (because getting a Talisman is on everybody’s least urgent spot on their to-do list anyway).

    • cptshandy May 27, 2017 / 9:17 am

      Good idea!

  3. Part Time Log May 27, 2017 / 3:57 pm

    I notice also the lack of PvP interaction in Talisman comes also from the start characters people want to play. In my casual players circle of friend, people usually prefer to farm the board, instead of confronting other players. So characters which depend on attacking/ robbing (thief, merchant) are usually not favoured.

    • cptshandy May 27, 2017 / 4:58 pm

      Interesting point! Perhaps I’ll take a more aggressive character next time…

  4. poisontail May 28, 2017 / 11:14 am

    Man, now I got inspired to play Talisman by this!

    If a new edition of Talisman comes up now as FFG “gave up” GWs brands, and the new edition holds up I might well picked it up. Played it a few times, and the only down side I see is that games might drag out. We were also quite a few players then.

    Mice and Mystics is a hit!

    • cptshandy May 28, 2017 / 12:36 pm

      Thanks! I enjoyed both and I’m already looking forward to playing them again.

Leave a Reply

