On the Painting Table

It’s rather hot and painting is going slow. But I’ve got a nice working space, even though it’s not a permanent set up – I put everything away after each session.

WorkingSpace

I’m still working on ACW stuff. I’ve prepared a group of Confederate infantry, a mixture of leftovers from Peter Pig and Essex.

Inf

I’m almost finished with the Confederate cavalry. On the second tray, you can see the last batch of horses undercoated and waiting to be painted. The figures to the right are two survivors from Zombicide. I rather enjoy the game and fancied having a go at the figures. They are plastic and I’m not entirely happy with the style, but they paint up easier than I would have thought. Maybe I’ll continue and do all of them. I can’t, however, see myself painting the 65 zombies included in the game!

tray2

The two dogs are from Peter Pig and are for a scenario. I also made some other things for scenarios for Sharp Practice. First, a jetty:

jetty

Second, a Hale rocket launcher. This is one of the more peculiar weapons of the American Civil War. It was used by the Union on several occasions, although it was considered to by quite inaccurate. “[T]he missiles from the rocket-stands on our right, while they did no damage, served to frighten the enemy’s artillery horses,” writes an officer of the 54th Massachusetts. It had some advantages, such as its portability and that it could be mounted on flat boats, as it had no recoil.

Anyway, it was used in an action I want to game and Sharp Practice contains rules for rockets, so here’s my quick attempt to make one:

Leave a Reply

