Fantasy Stuff

During the last months, I was quite busy painting 28mm fantasy figures and terrain. I mainly orientated myself by the scenarios in the Sellswords & Spellslingers rule book. Fortunately, I already had a bunch of lizardmen which I painted up years ago for the pirates project (although I’ve never used them then). I also decided to buy a regiment of painted Games Workshop goblins on ebay – they were very cheap and look nice, and I rather spend my time painting up heroes and special characters instead of hordes of enemies. The bulk of my Orcs is from the old copy of HeroQuest, bolstered by a couple of figures Sigur generously gave to me.

Barbarians

Most of the barbarians are from Battlezone Miniatures, a company I recently discovered. They offer nice miniatures for a very good price and their service is excellent. The figure on the far right is from HeroQuest, while the guy with the big horns is an old Games Workshop miniatures I got from ebay.

Painting them, I have tried to implement what I learned from Sigur and experimented a bit with highlighting. I also now routinely do eyes! However, I still paint for gaming, that is I don’t spend too much time on each figure as I want to get it on the table. For the moment, I seem to have found the right groove – I try to improve my technique a bit each time, but I don’t fuss about too much.

Adventurers1

Here’s a group of adventurers. The lady on the far left is from DGS Games (via Bad Squiddo Games) and is one of my favourite miniatures. I really like the pose and I’m quite happy with the paint job. The dwarf with the chain and ball and the two halflings are from the Ganesha Games range at Alternative Armies. Another very characterful range of figures! The other dwarf is from the fantastic dwarf range of Lead Adventure Miniatures. I don’t know who produces the girl with the falcon, as I got it from ebay.

Adventurers2

Another group of adventurers, featuring two figures from Battlezone, a dwarf from Alternative Armies and a Frostgrave wizard from North Star.

Evil

And what are the adventurers up against? The Forces of Evil, consisting of an old Citadel (at least that’s what I think) demon and Minotaur, a Battlezone skeleton and another Frostgrave wizard.

For two of the Sellswords scenarios, you need standing stones. Initially, I just wanted to collect stones when going for a stroll, but the weather did not support this idea, so I made them myself. I used DAS modeling clay and decided to embellish them a bit, imagining that the stones had been warped by the evil powers of a demented warlock or something along that line.

Standingstones

Another company I recently discovered is Hexy. They make very nice resin fantasy terrain and Virago and I ordered a couple of pieces. Among others, I got myself an Orc totem.

Totem

I tried to give it a weathered appearance, as if it had been painted in garish colours which have already rubbed off.

The last thing I want to show is a ruin from Amera. Again, this is something I had lying around for years, but I finally decided to give it some paint. It’s made of a rather featureless plastic and takes some work to make it look decent, but I think it turned out ok.

 

5 thoughts on “Fantasy Stuff

    • cptshandy March 17, 2018 / 9:03 pm

      Thanks, nice! Battlezone state on their homepage that they use old Mark Copplestone sculpts, but I didn’t know they were those…

  1. daggerandbrush March 19, 2018 / 9:48 pm

    Really like this selection of old school and newer fantasy offerings. Very cool idea with the standing stones. The one with the hands looks just like the thing adventures will encounter looking for shelter.

    • cptshandy March 19, 2018 / 9:49 pm

      Thanks! I wanted the stones to look like something out of Army of Darkness or a similar movie…

  2. Faust March 20, 2018 / 6:25 pm

    Great job on those Standing stones. Way more interesting than some random rocks would have been. I like the concept. Also great painting jobs all around. I had a weekend of reflection and was thinking about how I’ll be tackling painting in the future. I’m starting to think about a faster approach to get minis on the table. With a good possibility of ‘improving as I go’ as well. I love a well painted mini, but I also really love to game.

Leave a comment