VIVAT 2018

Another weekend, another show – that’s the life of the wargaming jet-set! VIVAT, which is hosted near Vienna, is a small and friendly show. It’s an event where historical wargamers from Austria (and from Hungary) come together, chat and play a couple of games.

This year, there were six tables. Additionally, Sigur had his painting station and S-Games had a small table with wares.

I used the opportunity to have another game of What a Tanker! This time, the game was set in boccage country, which made quite a difference from the desert setting I’ve played before. Considering that I’m not at all interested in tanks, I’ve a strange liking of this game – perhaps because I can just enjoy it as a game.

 

There was also a SAGA game set during the crusades, which looked rather nice.

 

The Jugula game also looked spiffy. The arena was very effective and the game itself looked like fun.

jug

This one is a large game of The Great War. If I’m not mistaken, it was presented by the Hungarian delegation.

gw

The indefatigable team of Tabletop Wien West presented a game of Blood Red Skies. It’s really admirable how hard those guys work to bring tabletop games to a larger public and to pull new blood into the hobby.

brs

And finally, a wintry Flames of War table.

fog

I really enjoyed my visit to VIVAT. Not only did I have the opportunity to have a fun game, I also reconnected with guys I hadn’t seen for a while and met new people. The Austrian historical miniatures wargaming community is very small and fragmented, so it’s great to have an event to get together and share the passion. Thanks to the organisers for a great job, I’m already looking forward to VIVAT 2019!

2 thoughts on “VIVAT 2018

  1. Pete S/ SP November 11, 2018 / 5:50 pm

    That is a great looking gaming event. Especially the two players a side version of the Great War boardgame.

    Cheers,

    Pete.

    • cptshandy November 11, 2018 / 8:53 pm

      I’ve never tried a multiplayer Command & Colors game but it sure looks fun.

Leave a comment