Mexican Revolution Terrain

I’m not only busy painting figures for the Mexican Revolution project, I’ve also decided that I need some small stuff and scatter terrain to make the Mexican village look a little more lived in.

From Scotia Grendel, I got a set of resin crates that will provide cover for my gunfighters.

GrendelCrates

From Tony Harwood’s blog, I got the idea of creating a piece of terrain that also tells a little story. What if a raucous meal was suddenly interrupted by the appearance of a patrol of Federales? I made a table out of balsa wood and added bottles and pans I got from Black Cat Bases. The chair is also from Scotia Grendel, while the barrel came with a water cart from 4Ground.

This is how the finished scene looks:

tablefountainfinished

The fountain you can see in the background was built by scratch, using lids and other junk.

Another small addition is this handcart from Warbases:

handcart

I have also ordered a toy car – every Western set during the Mexican Revolution features a car – which I still have to re-paint and a set of Cacti from Pegasus, which will provide terrain for scenarios set in the wilderness.

A Fistful of Lead also needs a couple of markers. I decided to make ones that fit into the terrain. For ‘pinned’, I put spare hats onto a small base. The hats are from Black Cat Bases, the sombreros are from Irregular Miniatures.

pinned

For ‘out of ammo’, I used spare pouches and bags from a sprue of plastic WW2 Japanese I found in my goody bag at CRISIS.

ooa

For wounds, I will use a system I originally devised for playing Tomorrow’s War. As my figures are based on steel bases (or washers), magnetic foil sticks to them. I made small red and black squares of magnetic foil, which can be placed underneath the figure. They stay in place and don’t have to be moved separately, and only the red or black corners show and indicate one or two wounds.

The project is coming along nicely and we’ll be having a first game soon. I’m looking forward to seeing the terrain in action!

4 thoughts on “Mexican Revolution Terrain

  1. Mikko March 11, 2016 / 12:05 pm

    I love that narrative terrain piece. To quote the Pokémon games…it’s super effective! This project is coming along nicely, looking forward to seeing more.

  2. daggerandbrush March 15, 2016 / 12:30 am

    Very smart use of markers. I also love the dinner scene. I think in many cases gaming tables can be a bit too devoid of life, so it is nice to see such little vignettes bringing it all to the next level.

  3. Michael Peterson March 15, 2016 / 1:18 pm

    As always I admire your creativity and the way your scenery captures a mood and tells a story all it needs is a 1960s western film music score.

  4. cptshandy March 15, 2016 / 2:12 pm

    Thanks guys! I’ve already organised some Morricone soundtracks for our first game 🙂

Leave a comment