Building a 28mm Barn

We’ve now played several games of Ganesha Games’ fabulous Sellswords & Spellslingers. The games are linked by a narrative campaign and I’m busy painting figures for the scenarios. I also realised that I lack 28mm terrain, especially buildings. I’ve got a few from my pirate project, but it would be nice to have more.

The obvious solution is to build some by scratch, something I enjoy anyway. However, being used to 15mm, I was a bit apprehensive about the requirements of a larger scale. So I decided to start with a simple structure – a barn – and experiment a bit with materials.

The walls are made out of a thick but very light cardboard-like material I found at home. This is perfect: it’s easy to cut but doesn’t bend or warp. It may be some sort of foamcore board, but I’m not sure; I will try to source some more when I run out of this sheet. The timber framing and the other wooden surfaces were made out of balsa wood. I weathered the balsa with a sculpting tool, which was tedious work but produced a nice effect. I also wanted to experiment with other surfaces, so I integrated a bit of brickwork (made out of cork) and stone (carved out of foamboard). I’m not completely happy with those, but they look ok and I think both have potential. I will certainly experiment more with those.

The roof shingles are individually placed cardboard squares – another batch of tedious work, but again something that produces a nice result.

5

The shovel and broom were sculpted out of green stuff, the wagon wheel is from Warbases, who were kind enough to sell me a couple of spare wheels.

The wood-chopping barbarian is from Battlezone, a company I only discovered recently and which offer nice old school figures for a very good price.

It was fun making this building and I plan to make more – I want a smithy and one of the Sellswords scenarios demands a wizard’s tower…

 

5 thoughts on “Building a 28mm Barn

  1. Guillaume d'Guy February 24, 2018 / 3:25 pm

    That turned out rather well indeed, nice work.
    I’m also a fan of Ganesha Games.

  2. Richard Hubbard February 24, 2018 / 3:40 pm

    That looks great! And obviously your 15mm skills ‘upscaled’ well. BTW, did you post a similar review on the Facebook page, ‘Terrain Tutor’?

    • cptshandy February 24, 2018 / 8:47 pm

      Thanks! No, I don’t think so, never heard of Terrain Tutor.

  3. Rob Passingham February 24, 2018 / 5:53 pm

    Well done! I think you nailed the worn wood colour on the shingles and siding.

  4. coreyburger March 1, 2018 / 12:47 am

    Looks good. One thing I would do – add some rain-bounce dirt around the bottom – this part of a building never stays white after construction

Leave a comment